“Oundjian hielt das Publikum für eine glückselige Ewigkeit unter einem musikalischen Zauber”
Toronto Star

“Oundjian zeigte sich als meisterhafter Bruckner-Dirigent. Die Achte hatte sowohl Pathos als auch Kraft, mit fester, transparenter Struktur und tadellosen Übergängen. Das Scherzo fegte mit knackigem, mitreißendem Temperament dahin, das Adrenalin baute sich mit jedem Schlag auf. Oundjian pflegte gekonnt das Adagio mit einem sorgfältigen, langsamen Spannungsbogen, mit getragenen Holzbläsern und einem andächtigen Streichersatz.”
ARTSFILE Canada

Der kürzlich als Chefdirigent des Toronto Symphony Orchestras verabschiedete Peter Oundjian wird als erfahrene und dynamische Persönlichkeit in der Welt des Dirigierens gefeiert. Oundjian hat als Dirigent, Geiger, Professor und künstlerischer Berater ein vielschichtiges Portfolio entwickelt. Er wird für seine Musikalität, sein gutes Auge für besondere Kollaborationen und innovative Programmgestaltung sowie für seine fesselnde Persönlichkeit hochgeschätzt.

Oundjians vierzehnjährige Amtszeit als musikalischer Leiter des Toronto Symphony Orchestra wurde durch eine Neuaufstellung des Orchesterprogramms, ein steigendes internationales Ansehen, eine höhere Besucherzahl, intensive Tourneen und eine Reihe bemerkenswerter Konzertmitschnitte geprägt. Durch seine langjährige Verbindung mit dem Orchester etablierte er das TSO als einen der weltweit angesehensten Klangkörper und fungierte als treibende kreative Kraft für die Stadt Toronto. Oundjian leitete das Orchester auf mehreren internationalen Tourneen in Europa und den USA und dirigierte im Jahr 2014 das überhaupt erste Konzert eines nordamerikanischen Orchesters in der Harpa Hall, Reykjavik.

Seit 2012 fungiert er als musikalischer Leiter des Royal Scottish National Orchestra und etablierte eine Form der gemeinschaftlichen Programmgestaltung, die zum Markenzeichen seiner Arbeit wurde. Oundjian führte das RSNO auf mehrere internationale Tourneen, einschließlich Nordamerika, China und eine europaweite Festivaltournee mit Konzerten in Innsbruck, bei den Bregenzer Festspielen, den Dresdner Musikfestspielen sowie unter anderem in Bergamo, Ljubljana. Seinen letzten Auftritt als Chefdirigent des RSNO wird er nach einer sechsjährigen Anstellung bei den 2018 BBC Proms haben, wo er Brittens War Requiem dirigieren wird.

Unter den Highlights kommender Saisons sind Engagements mit dem Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, den Sinfonieorchestern in Detroit, Atlanta, Saint Louis und Baltimore sowie Konzerte in Los Angeles, Neuseeland und Armenien. Oundjian ist künstlerischer Berater des Colorado Music Festival und wird seine Arbeit mit dem Caramoor Festival, den BBC Proms, dem NHK Symphony Orchestra und dem Prager Frühling weiter fortsetzen.

Oundjian ist seit 1981 Gastprofessor an der musikalischen Fakultät der Universität Yale und wurde dort im Jahre 2013 mit der „Sanford Medal for Distinguished Service to Music“ ausgezeichnet. Er engagiert sich hingebungsvoll für die Weiterbildung junger Musiker, was ihn in der Saison 18/19 an die Dirigentenpulte des Orchesters der Universität Yale, des Juilliard Symphony Orchestra und des New World Symphony führt.

Oundjian verbrachte als ausgezeichneter Violinist vierzehn Jahre als erster Geiger des Tokyo String Quartet, bevor er sich dem Dirigieren widmete.


Peter Oundjian wird in Europa von Tanja Dorn, Dorn Music vertreten.

Änderungen und Kürzungen nicht ohne Zustimmung des Managements.

Mai 2018

Download Biografie

Tanja Dorn

Owner & President
Phone: +49 (0) 511 13 222 475
Email: dorn@dornmusic.com

“Oundjian kept the audience under a musical spell for what seemed like a blissful eternity”
(Toronto Star)

“Oundjian showed himself to be a masterful Bruckner conductor. The eighth had pathos as well as power, with firm, pellucid structure and impeccable transitions. The Scherzo steamed along with crisp, lethal efficiency, the adrenalin rush building with each flourish. Oundnian expertly tended the adagio at a careful, slow burn, with solemn woodwinds playing against spiritual strings”
(ARTSFILE Canada)

Recently named conductor emeritus of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Peter Oundjianhas been hailed as a masterful and dynamic presence in the conducting world. Oundjian has developed a multi-faceted portfolio as a conductor, violinist, professor, and artistic advisor. He has been celebrated for his musicality, an eye towards collaboration, innovative programming, and an engaging personality.

Oundjian’s fourteen-year tenure as music director of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra has been marked by a reimagining of the TSO’s programming, international stature, audience development, touring and a number of outstanding recordings. Credited for his long association with the orchestra, Oundjian helped establish the TSO as one of the world’s top ensembles and served as a major creative force for the city of Toronto. Oundjian lead the orchestra on several international tours, to Europe and the USA, and he conducted the first performance by a North American orchestra at Reykjavik’s Harpa Hall in 2014. Oundjian and the TSO’s recording of Vaughan Williams’ Orchestral Works won a JUNO Award for Best Classical Album: Large Ensemble in 2019.

From 2012-2018, Oundjian served as Music Director of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra during which time he implemented the kind of collaborative programming that has become a staple of his directorship. Oundjian led the RSNO on several international tours, including North America, China, and a European festival tour with performances at the Bregenz Festival, the Dresden Festival as well as in Innsbruck, Bergamo, Ljubljana, and others. His final appearance with the orchestra as their Music Director was at the 2018 BBC Proms where he conducted Britten’s epic War Requiem.

Highlights of past seasons include appearances with the Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, the Detroit, Atlanta, Saint Louis, Baltimore, Indianapolis and New Zealand Symphony Orchestras, with visits to Cincinnati and Milwaukee planned for winter 2020. In January 2019 he transitioned from Artistic Advisor to Music Director for the Colorado Music Festival, commencing a five year tenure. He is proud to continue his association with the Caramoor Festival, the BBC Proms, NHK Symphony, and the Prague Spring Festival.

Oundjian has been a visiting professor at Yale University’s School of Music since 1981, and in 2013 was awarded the school’s Sanford Medal for Distinguished Service to Music. A dedicated educator, Oundjian conducted the Yale and Juilliard Symphony Orchestras and the New World Symphony during the 18/19 season.

An outstanding violinist, Oundjian spent fourteen years as the first violinist for the renowned Tokyo String Quartet before he turned his energy towards conducting.


Peter Oundjian is represented in Europe by Tanja Dorn at Dorn Music.

This approved biography is not to be altered or shortened without the management’s permission. Please replace older versions.

September 2019

Website: www.peteroundjian.com

Download Press Material

Download high resolution images here

Tanja Dorn

Owner & President
Phone: +49 (0) 511 13 222 475
Email: dorn@dornmusic.com