“Yue Bao has delivered this evening”
-Minnesota Public Radio

Conductor Yue Bao made her subscription debut with the Houston Symphony on their opening night concert of the 20/21 season, and has led the orchestra both at Jones Hall and at their summer concert series at the Miller Theatre. She made her Chicago Symphony Orchestra debut at the Ravinia Festival in 2021.

Recently, Bao debuted in Munich with the Munich Symphony, the Singapore Symphony Orchestra with soloist Jan Vogler, and with the Orchestra of St Luke’s with soloist Hélène Grimaud. She will debut with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra as well as making her debut in Spain. 

In recent seasons, Bao has conducted the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, the Seattle Symphony, and the Calgary Philharmonic. She also debuted with the San Francisco Symphony, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and the Minnesota Orchestra.

Bao was the Bruno Walter Memorial Foundation Conducting Fellow at the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music. In 2018, she served as the David Effron Conducting Fellow at the Chautauqua Music Festival, where she returned as a guest conductor in the 2022 season. She has worked extensively in the United States and abroad. Equally at home with both symphonic and operatic repertoire, she has conducted Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin, Bizet’s Carmen, Kurt Weill’s Mahagonny: Ein Songspiel, and Gian Carlo Menotti’s The Medium.

Along with her Artist Diploma from The Curtis Institute of Music, where she was the Rita E Hauser Conducting Fellow and studied with Yannick NezetSèguin, Bao holds Bachelors of Music degrees in orchestral conducting and opera accompanying from the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and a Master of Music degree in orchestral conducting from the Mannes School of Music. She served as the Ting Tsung and Wei Fung Chao Foundation Assistant Conductor at the Houston Symphony.


Yue Bao is represented worldwide by Tanja Dorn at Dorn Music.

This approved biography is not to be altered or shortened without the management’s permission. Please replace older versions.

June 2023

Yue Bao | John Corigliano “Mannheim Rocket”

Yue Bao: Britten “Four Sea Interludes”  –  Storm | Curtis Symphony Orchestra

Janáček: Capriccio for Piano and Chamber Ensemble (excerpt) | Houston Symphony

Prokoviev: Symphony No. 1 “Classical” Mvt.1 (exerpt)| Curtis Symphony Orchestra

Yue Bao: Britten “Four Sea Interludes” – Moonlight | Curtis Symphony Orchestra

Tanja Dorn

Owner & President
Phone:+49 (0) 511 13 222 475
Email: dorn@dornmusic.com

Anthony Acocella

Vice President, Touring & Artist Management
Phone: +1 646 920 2950
Email: acocella@dornmusic.com

Jinlu Li

Associate Manager
Phone: +49 (0) 511 13 222 478
Mobile: +49 (0) 176 24 630 279
Email: li@dornmusic.com