“Perhaps the most exquisite quality of Mejias’ playing is his ability to go inside the music and create his completely own sound world”

– Aamulehti

I am very anxious to give you my very high opinion on Anton Mejias, everyone has recognized his very special talent. Something in his Bach is very unique– not peculiar, just very natural and I think he could be remembered as one of the great Bach players of our time.”

– Gary Graffman

Born in 2001, the Finnish-Cuban pianist Anton Mejias was fascinated by the music of Bach from a very young age. He made his recital debut at the age of eitght, and by ten, he had already learned the entire Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I. Since then he has added the complete French and English Suites, all six partitas, and the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, to his repertoire.

In August 2023, Anton Mejias made his US debut with the Los Angeles Philharmonic at the Hollywood Bowl under conductor Tarmo Peltokoski. In the season 23/24 he will make his recital debuts at the Klavier-Festival Ruhr, the Dresdner Musikfestspiele, and in Munich. In 24/25 he will debut in recital in Berlin.

In addition to Tarmo Peltokoski, he has performed under conductors Klaus Mäkelä and Lawrence Renes and has played with the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra and the Hallé Orchestra Manchester. In February 2023, he accompanied baritone Matthias Goerne for a recital of Schubert’s Winterreise at the Théatre du Capitole de Toulouse.

He has won top prizes from the Viotti International Piano Competition and the Nordic Piano Competition.

Anton Mejias began studying piano with Meri Louhos when he was five years old and went on to study at the Sibelius Academy with Teppo Koivisto and Niklas Pokki.  He is currently pursuing a Bachelors degree at the Curtis Institute of Music where he is in the studio of Ignat Solzhenitsyn and he additionally studies with the renowned Gary Graffman.

Anton Mejias is represented worldwide by Tanja Dorn and Anthony Acocella at Dorn Music.

This approved biography is not to be altered or shortened without the management’s permission. Please replace older versions.

July 2023

Download high resolution images

Anton Mejias: Bach ‘Prelude and Fugue in C sharp minor’ (WTK, Book II, No.4), BWV 873

Anton Mejias: Bach ‘Prelude and Fugue in C sharp’ (WTK, Book II, No. 3), BWV 872

Tanja Dorn

Owner & President
Phone: +49 (0) 511 13 222 475
Email: dorn@dornmusic.com

Anthony Acocella

Vice President, Touring & Artist Management
Phone: +1 646 920 2950
Email: acocella@dornmusic.com