Skip to main content

Solo Recital with Anton Mejias

By March 12, 2024Uncategorized

March 8, 2024 Orangerie Hannover

Johann Sebastian Bach The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 2 BWV 870-893

A musical journey through all keys – Anton Mejias and the Well-Tempered Clavier.

Finally, the problem with the Pythagorean comma had been overcome! When Andreas Werckmeister introduced equal temperament for keyboard instruments at the end of the 17th century, which divided all 12 tones of an octave into equally sized half steps, it became possible to compose in all keys. Bach was so fascinated by this idea that he composed two volumes, each with 24 preludes and fugues in all keys, “The Well-Tempered Clavier.” A monumental work and a great pianistic challenge. Only a few artists perform it as a cycle.

The Chopin Society Hannover has discovered Anton Mejias and introduced him to the Hanoverian public. A young pianist at the beginning of his career, of whom his famous teacher Gary Graffman says that he could be remembered as one of the great Bach interpreters of our time.

This opinion is likely shared by anyone who attended the solo recital with Anton Mejias at the Orangerie Herrenhausen. The Well-Tempered Clavier Part 2 by Johann Sebastian Bach was on the program. 24 preludes and fugues. A journey through all keys. Mejias’ interpretation leaves no doubt, and one has the rare feeling of absolute correctness in his playing. Bach becomes a transcendent event, a mission. The fascinating thing about Mejias is his naturalness. He doesn’t need to experiment, insert idiosyncrasies into the work, or overinterpret. He simply plays a pure, sonorous Bach. With striking finger technique, a clear formal structure, rhythmic precision, and in every respect “harmonious.” Particularly successful was his sparing and extremely effective use of the pedal. Bach would certainly have enjoyed the possibilities offered by the modern grand piano.

The difficulty of learning the polyphonic fugues with their strict contrapuntal form, crystallizing their thematic diversity, and shaping the partly virtuosic preludes is hardly imaginable. Mejias has turned this monumental work into an entertaining experience with great concentration. There were no weaknesses, no memory lapses, and no trace of fatigue.

The attentive silence in the hall dissolved into appreciative applause. Fortunately, Mejias did not give an encore. Nothing would have fit. With the final fugue in B minor, a point was made, and anything further would have seemed unnecessary. With the music of Johann Sebastian Bach, everything has already been said.

Okka Mallek
Hannover, 2024 March 09

Source: See website Chopin Gesellschaft:
Foto Credit: Andreas Schober