Yue Bao’s German debut with Münchner Symphoniker

By November 7, 2023 Uncategorized

Wednesday, November 8, 2023 19:30

Isarphilharmonie, Munich Symphony Orchestra

November 5th, 2023

Get tickets here

The Munich Symphony Orchestra dedicates the opening concert of the Philharmonie Extra” series is entirely to Mozarts work. The program ranges from the Sinfonia concertante KV 364, one of the last great scores from Mozart’s Salzburg period, through the dramatic-theatrical demonism of Don Giovanni” to the Jupiter Symphony, the last symphony of the classic and his unmistakable commitment to intellectual freedom of the Enlightenment.

The orchestra invites two renowned musicians: American violinist Chad Hoopes who has performed with the most important international orchestras, Chad is a former Artist in Residence with the Munich Symphony. Conductor Yue Bao who has worked extensively in the United States and abroad with both symphonic and operatic repertoire.

Yue Bao made her debut with the Houston Symphony on their opening night concert of the 20/21 season, and has led the orchestra at their Summer concert series at the Miller Theater in 2021 and in 2022. She made her Chicago Symphony Orchestra debut at the 2021 Ravinia Festival and has since debuted with the San Francisco Symphony, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and Minnesota Orchestra.

Bao was the Bruno Walter Memorial Foundation Conducting Fellow at the Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music. In 2018, she served as the David Effron Conducting Fellow at the Chautauqua Music Festival, where she returned as a guest conductor in the 2022 season.

Along with her Artist Diploma from The Curtis Institute of Music, where she was the Rita E Hauser Conducting Fellow and studied with Yannick Nezet-Sèguin, Bao holds Bachelors of Music degrees in orchestral conducting and opera accompanying from the Shanghai Conservatory of Music and a Master of Music degree in orchestral conducting from the Mannes School of Music.


Mozart: Overture to Don Giovanni” KV 527

Mozart: Sinfonia concertante for violin, viola and orchestra in E flat major KV 364

Mozart: Symphony No. 41 C major KV 551 Jupiter”

Munich Symphony Orchestra

Chad Hoopes, violin

Matthew Lipman, viola

Yue Bao, conductor